Blog

NINE | DEAR SIXTEEN YEAR OLD SELF

Good morning Everyone and Happy Hump Day ! Today is a very exciting day because it’s my 17th birthday, as well as my first day of senior year. Today’s day nine of the Blog – tember Challenge and I think today’s Β prompt is quite a coincidence.

Today’s Prompt : Write a letter to sixteen-year-old you.

In this very moment , I am both happy and nervous . Happy to see all my friends and get back into a nice routine. However, also nervous at the fact that this is my senior year and life is getting pretty real. For the last 16 years I have depended on no one else but my mom. My mom is the best and most important person to me in my life and nothing will change that. For the first time in 16 years she will be stepping back from her roll. In the sense that, her only child is about to start a new chapter in there life within the next 9 months.

Me and mommy at the zoo

Starting now I am doing my own college applications, essays, finalizing my college list and just preparing for my future. It feels weird not to have my mom double checking my essays, or checking if everything in my application is done right. My mom is not doing any of this, because this year she is preparing me for independence. Not saying that I have not always been an independent person.But in the aspect of teaching me there isn’t always going to be someone there for you to help you through everything. That you can’t always be dependent on someone and you have to learn to depend on yourself. Of course I still will depend on my mom for everything else for now, but my future is my own challenge and chapter that I will be able to say I accomplished by myself.

These next few months will be major milestones in my life college acceptance letters, college rejection letters, graduation, prom and my future. I have never had two completely different emotions in my mind at the same time. But I know that this is going to be one of the best years of my life, one I won’t forget for eternity. What I want to tell my 16 year old self is cherish every moment, take lots of pictures, thank God everyday and work hard because those 4 things will help you continue having a great life.

Sincerely,

17-year-old Russia

Leave a Reply

